Four of the city gates in Florence were closed; the first was Porta San Miniato, the second was the Porta all Giustizia, the third Porta Pinti(1), and the fourth the Porticciuola della Mulina (of the Mill).(2)
(1) The Porta a Pinti, demolished with the walls in 1866, was at the end of the Borgo Pinti, and was a very picturesque gate, with a group of old cypresses. (Trans.)
(2) The Porticciuola della Mulina was near the Prato, down by the river, leading to the Mulina (Mill) of the Vagaloggia. It was sometimes called Pirticciuola del Prato. The three last gates were taken down when the walls were demolished. (Trans.)
The Porta a Faenza(1) was closed, because the plague was very bad outside this gate, and was in three or four houses in Florence.
(1) This gate, which was on the Prato, was demolished when the Fortezza di Basso was built, or rather, it was built into the keep of the fort. (Trans.)